Downloading & Working files from the OMTech DIY Shop | OMTech Laser

Downloading & Working files from the OMTech DIY Shop

• Hi Everyone!

As a file designer, I get asked a lot of questions from customers and people who are interested in downloading digital files so they can make their own projects and DIY crafts. One of the common questions I get is "why would someone want to buy a digital file"?

One of the benefits is with a digital file- the download is instant. You don't need to worry about a ship wait and you can also take that file and modify it as you see fit. Every designer has their own way of setting up a file.

If you are not aware, OMTech recently launched their new DIY shop where you can purchase a variety of fun and unique files. I'm going to be walking you through making a purchase along with posting some tips and tricks on how you can modify the files for your own use!

1. Once you find the item(s) you like, you can follow the steps to check out.
    2. Proceed to move forward with your payment information and follow the steps.
    3. Once your order is completed, you will get a confirmation email that contains a link to the SVG. You may need to wait 10 or so minutes for the email to come through that contains a download link to the file, which will be on the Google Drive.
    4. The file and it's designated instructions can be found on the google drive. Simple right click and download the instructions and the design.
    5. You can open the design in Lightburn now! Or if you have design sofware experience (I tend to modify all my designs in Illustrator and then move to Lightburn) you can use that for editing as well.
    6. In Lightburn you can size the design accordingly. For some designs that may be layered you will need to refer to the instructions on how to use in order to see what layers go with what elements. Other files may include options if there is kerf involved or needed.

For Projects thet require Kerf